Judging and Judges


The mission of the South African Young Wine Show is to judge the quality of wines that are still in their infancy, i.e. within the year of production – and have some way to go before they are finally bottled. In this way, the industry can give recognition to the production capabilities of a wine cellar. Very few of these wines are for sale or in their final form at the time of being judged.

Entries are adjudicated by specialist panels of five judges drawn from winemakers or wine experts with a formal qualification and specialist knowledge of specific wine styles. A sixth junior judge per panel has been introduced to train future judges. Their scores do not count.

The South African National Wine Show Association announces the winner of the Genl Smuts Trophy for the best wine, the Pietman Hugo Trophy for the best producer and the 17 SA Champions during a luncheon or dinner and each of the participating regions showcase their top-scoring wines at regional young wine shows.

2023 SA Young Wine Show Judges

Dry White Wine

  • Hermias Hugo
  • Pieter Carstens
  • Jacques Bruwer
  • Johan Gerber
  • Marko Pentz

Dry White Wine

  • Christo Pienaar
  • Dewald Huisamen
  • William Stacey
  • Tertius Jonck
  • Christo Smit

Chenin Blanc

  • Albertus Louw
  • Jacques Erasmus
  • Theunis Botha
  • Johan Linde
  • Isabel Teubes

Sauvignon Blanc

  • RJ Botha
  • Pieter-Niel Rossouw
  • Morgan Steyn
  • De Wet Viljoen
  • René Groenewald


  • Izéle van Blerk
  • Johann de Wet
  • Casey Leigh Bushby
  • Kelsey King Shungking
  • Marlee Malan

Dry Red Blends

  • Klaas Stoffberg
  • Tinnie Momberg
  • André Scriven
  • Praisy Dlamini
  • Bertus Basson


  • Karlin Nel
  • Morné Kemp
  • Narina Cloete
  • Phillip Viljoen
  • Mika Engelbrecht

Cabernet Sauvignon

  • Morné Vrey
  • Bertho vd Westhuizen
  • Candice Nassen
  • Thys Loubser
  • Thys Louw


  • Francois van Niekerk
  • Abraham van Heerden
  • Jenna Higgins
  • Anri Truter
  • Stander Maass


  • Elzette du Preez
  • Leon Dippenaar
  • Juandré Bruwer
  • Ricardo Cloete
  • Edwin Mathambo

Other Red Cultivars

  • Anton Swarts
  • Ryan Puttick
  • WS Visagie
  • Michiel Visser
  • Athur Basson

NLH / Cape Style

  • Raymond Noppé
  • Colin Frith
  • Louis van der Riet
  • David van Velden
  • Conrad Louw

Dessert Wine

  • Nico Grundling
  • Henri Swiegers
  • Melissa Rhode
  • Hermis Vollgraaff
  • Chris Crafford

Champion panel

  • JC Bekker
  • Erna Blancquaert
  • Susan Erasmus
  • Bertus Fourie
  • Heidi Kritzinger
  • Altus le Roux
  • Samarie Smith-Meletiou
  • André van Rensburg
  • Samuel Viljoen